(c) Melinda Smith 2011

I am autistic

In Autism Poem on December 23, 2011 at 5:19 pm

A while ago I posted a poem called I have autism that was a ‘google-sculpture’. I said it was half of a pair. Here is the second half, also a google-sculpture – that is, the words in the poem are edited and rearranged results from a Google search on the phrase ‘I am autistic’.  Reading the two poems together I hope gives a window into the online autism community, as well as illuminating some of the debate about ‘person-first’ language in an autism context (does one say ‘autistic person’ or ‘person with autism’ ? Depends on who you ask…)

I am autistic…
 
because I cannot be separated from how my brain works
 
, I’m not a brat
 
: ask me about my needs
 
, not just an adult with autism. It is a part of who I am. I was born this way. I would not choose to change that.
 
, I’m not crazy.
 
. I can speak. My voice is different, not weak, and if you listened…
 
. I’m an adult, with a career, a mortgage, and my first grey hairs. I’m female
 
. I don’t have autism.  That’s a thing I’ve been saying forfuckingever. And yet people keep insisting on pointedly saying that…
 
. I’m apparently what they call “high-functioning”, but I don’t like the term very much; the division feels artificial
 
, and I think in pictures. If the philosophers are correct, I…
 
, and that’s even better !
 
and proud of it, says Indonesian Oscar Yura Dompas, at the launch of his autobiography, Autistic Journey, at QB world Book Plaza
 
: what’s your excuse ?

  1. Keep writing! very interesting.

Leave a Reply

