(c) Melinda Smith 2011

I have autism

In Autism Poem on December 6, 2011 at 9:38 pm

The poem below was written using a new(ish) poetic technique (10 years is a short time in poetry) called google-sculpting.  I have been experimenting with this technique for a while now and I find it is a good way of capturing a diversity of voices and opinions about something.  It is particularly useful when writing about people living with autism because so many members of that community spend so much time connecting with each other online.

artsACT Logo

Poetry appearing on this page was produced with the generous support of artsACT

I have decided to do a pair of google-sculpts, one based on the search phrase ‘I have autism’ and the other based on ‘I am autistic’ – highlighting a hotly debated issue about ‘person-first’ language but also hopefully capturing some other interesting ‘noise’ along the way.  This is the first of those.

I have autism

Do i have autism? high functioning autism, long periods of time, someones eyes
I Have Autism – Chapter 1 – YouTube
I have autism and I want you to know
True Life (TV series documentary 1998– ). I Have Autism. Documentary. Your rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 -/10 X.
What are signs of Autism?,i have 2 month old twins and still in the …Your children are too young to worry about autism. It isn’t usually picked up until after age 2 (and 2 is early, usually more like around age 3). At this young of an age …
Autism: I have waited four years to get a kiss from my son. Now he’s kissing everybody
I’m not misbehaving, I have autism. Please be understanding
I don’t have autism. I am autistic.

How do I know if I have autism? What is autism? Autism is a lifelong developmental disability and is part of the autism spectrum. People with …
I Have Autism, my favourite book
I have Autism – Christian Forums Hey. My name is Lauren, I was diagnosed with autism in my toddler years. It’s actually very mild, a lot of people don’t even know I have it, but.
MTV’s I have Autism | try-therapy.com … MTV dares to impress with “I Have Autism.” The presentation details the lives of three very inspiring young men who all have differing …
Young I’m Not Misbehaving, I have Autism Nicholas Lombardi developed this pin, “I’m not misbehaving, I have Austism,” in a beautiful effort to …
Autism Speaks can go away. I have autism. I can speak for myself

Do you think I have autism ?
Autism Resources Miramichi Inc. – Lending LibraryBOOKS” I have Autism” – A Child’s First Look at Autism by Pat Crissey1001 Great Ideas for Teaching and …
My baby brother and I have autism
I have autism. What’s your excuse?’ T-shirts poke fun at disability, help educate others, mother says. My son Brandon looks like a typical teenager – until he …
I Have Autism” Child Size awareness bracelet is great for non verbal kids in case they get separated from you. On sale now at FlagsOnCars.com, you patriotic …
Yes, I have autism. Stare if you must. I’m not paying attention to you anyway

Could i have autism ?
Fishpond Australia, I Have Autism… What’s That? by Paddy McNally Kate Doherty. Buy Books online:
I have autism. Hear me out.
Special Needs 4 Special Needs I have Autism – temporary tattoo – I have Autism temporary tattoo. Featuring hot pink text on a bright green …
I’m not rude, I have autism

Do I have Autism? – NeuroTalk Support Groups no online test is going to give you even a clue if you have autism of not. The ONLY way you will know is if you talk to a doctor, and go to …
New to group and I have autism
Syndrom Puzzle Piece by MedicalAlert I Have Autism AspergersSyndrom Puzzle Piece Ribbon 2.25 pin back button badge. Asthma, peanut allergy, severe food allergies, diabetes, tree nut.
Shop I Have Autism Framed Prints. Large selection of unique and funny I Have Autism designs. 100% satisfaction guarantee. Fast shipping

Did I have autism? [Archive] – Physics Forums
I was too “weird” for them, due to the fact that I have autism. I just did not know the rules of what you were or were not supposed to do. I would come to a party too …

I have autism spectrum disorder ? what does this mean? does it mean ….I cant make friends?….. Share and Enjoy: …
I have autism and I want to work with people who have autism, any …

I have autism and I’m not afraid to use it

  1. […] while ago I posted a poem called I have autism that was a ‘google-sculpture’. I said it was half of a pair. Here is the second half, […]

Leave a Reply

