(c) Melinda Smith 2011

On holding the baby of a friend

In Autism Poem on November 25, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Hi there all. So sorry for my recent radio silence. I have been doing a lot of parenting and not much poeting. Hoping to redress the balance, starting now.

I am getting close to finishing the book. Very exciting. Only two more poems to go (in addition to those already on the blog), both of them nearly finished.

artsACT Logo

Poetry appearing on this page was produced with the generous support of artsACT

The poem below is now at the second draft stage. It is a sonnet, by the way (in case you were curious). Comments welcome.

On holding the baby of a friend

I hug and nuzzle; brush my cheek to his.
He giggles, grabs my nose and grins at me.
I close my eyes and pray no-one will see
the tear I shed at how much fun this is.
I’m sprung: ‘Clucky again? Another son?’
How can I tell her so she’ll understand ?
I had so much of this to give : I planned
to shower it all on mine.  He wanted none.

I wonder whether mothers get a store
of child-affection, swelling in the chest
like milk come in, demanding to be used.
Does having to suppress it make you sore?
MyWebMD has nothing to suggest.
I borrow babies. They reduce the bruise.

  1. Beautiful. Spare and elegant and heart-breaking. Bravo.

  2. It’s very powerful Melinda. Not sure I’d change it much at all. And it’s a genuine sonnet, unlike some I’ve read recently. Love the quite subtle rhyming, which I didn’t even notice on first read.

  3. Beautiful. I agree with Mike – I can’t see anything that needs changing, & it’s a “genuine” sonnet.

  4. […] On holding the baby of a friend […]

Leave a Reply

