(c) Melinda Smith 2011

But

In Autism Poem on September 29, 2011 at 8:11 pm

This poem explores a sibling’s perspective on living with autism. I hope it shows how  love, admiration and acceptance are mixed up with the resentment and sadness that being a special needs sibling can bring. Comments welcome.

But

When I asked him about his favourite game DeathBattle 5000 I said ‘level’ instead of ’round’.
He kicked me in the shins.
Mum kicked us both off the computer.
After dinner he patted my nose and smiled.
Love my brother. Sometimes he gets angry, but.

I wanted us all to go to Mark’s house to play with his trains.
My brother lay on the floor and screamed ‘I HAAAATE MAAARRRK!!’ (Mark is his friend).
Mum said I would have to go with her another time.
Before bed, he read me a Captain Underpants story.
Love my brother. Sometimes he gets angry, but.

I wanted to have my party at Crazy Monkeys Play Centre.
Mum started writing the invitations. My brother read them and tried to tear them up.
He punched me in the tummy. ‘I’m NEVER going to Crazy Monkeys. EVER. AGAIN !!!’
(We were there last week. He went down the giant slide twenty four times.)
Mum said I can still have my party there. Dad will stay home and look after him.

At bath time my brother gave me a squashy hug. He said I was his favourite thing.
Love my brother. Sometimes he gets angry, but.

Leave a Reply

