(c) Melinda Smith 2011

Twitter poems about autism

In Autism Poem on August 5, 2011 at 4:27 pm

Since getting onto Twitter two months ago (yes, I know, a little late…) I have been exploring the 140-character format, complete with #hashtags, as a way of writing condensed poems.  My autism twitter poems are collected below. The are not exactly twaiku, but I think they’re still kinda punchy.  The slashes between phrases show where the linebreaks would go if Twitter allowed linebreaks. I’ve been struggling with what to call them. Autistweets? Suggestions welcome…

1
my boy perches on the pool’s edge/flapping his wet hands/people are staring/he sees only me, and grins:/’I caught an imaginary trout’ #ASD

2
#micropoetry #ASDparenting #firsteverjointsleepover Both sons away tonight/after 7 years/I don’t recognise this quiet/or this calm

3
#autism #newdiagnosis #bewilderment with that one word/a glass wall traps me/i thump and plead/the doctor looks away

4
The arrivals board/says my plane has landed/your brother hugs me/you won’t let us go home/the cascading numbers/are too beautiful #ASD

5
#micropoetry #ASD #autism #anxiety “I still have a ‘drenaline feeling'”/so I walk u down the hall/7 years old & terrified/of Bugs Bunny

6
#ASD #autism How about this one, madam:/calm to chaos in 60 seconds/looks like a Ferrari/handles like a submarine/oh and we lost the manual

7
4 years old/you splinter doors with your rage/There are questions I dare not ask now/One starts with the number 14/another with 40 #autism

8
locked out of our new house/I scrabble at flyscreens. You shriek./Note to self: explain #autism to the neighbours/before they call the cops

Leave a Reply

